VATE Web header animated 01
AATE Conference
AATE Conference

Keynote speakers

Larissa Behrendt

Larissa BehrendtDistinguished Prof. Larissa Behrendt is a Eualayai/Gamillaroi woman and the Director of Research and Academic Programs at the Jumbunna Indigenous House of Learning at the University of Technology, Sydney.

Maxine Beneba Clarke

Maxine Beneba ClarkeMaxine Beneba Clarke is the author of the ABIA and Indie award winning short fiction collection Foreign Soil, the critically acclaimed memoir The Hate Race, and the poetry collection Carrying the World, which won the 2017 Victorian Premier's Literary Award for poetry.

Anne Elrod Whitney

Anne Whitney

Anne Elrod Whitney is Professor of Education at the Pennsylvania State University (USA).

A former secondary school English teacher and university writing instructor, Anne studies writing as a way of learning and living, as well as the teaching of writing and the development of teachers.  

John Yandell

John Yandell

John Yandell taught in inner London secondary schools for twenty years before moving to the Institute of Education, University College London, where he has worked since 2003.

Guest speakers

Michael Mohammed Ahmad

Michael Mohammad Ahmed

Michael Mohammed Ahmad is a writer, editor, teacher and community arts worker. He is the founder and director of Sweatshop: Western Sydney Literacy Movement, which is devoted to empowering culturally and linguistically diverse artists through creative writing.

Michael Anderson

Michael Anderson

Dr Michael Anderson is Professor of Education at the University of Sydney, Australia. He has taught, researched and published in education and transformation for over 20 years including 14 books and 55 book chapters and journal articles.

Ceridwen Dovey

Ceridwen Dovey

Ceridwen was born in South Africa, and grew up between South Africa and Australia. She studied anthropology on scholarship at Harvard and New York University before returning permanently to Sydney in 2010.

Scott Eacott

Scott EacottScott Eacott is currently Associate Professor of Educational Leadership and Director of Higher Research Degree programs in the School of Education UNSW Sydney and Adjunct Professor in the Department of Educational Administration at the University of Saskatchewan (Canada).

Anna Funder

Anna FunderAnna Funder is the author of the acclaimed All That I Am, winner of the 2012 Miles Franklin Literary Award, among other awards. Her first book, the internationally bestselling Stasiland, won the 2004 Samuel Johnson Prize and was published in twenty countries and translated into sixteen languages.

Cate Kennedy

Cate Kennedy

Cate Kennedy is an Australian author best known for her short stories, although she has also published three collections of poetry, a novel, and a travel memoir about her time volunteering in a Mexican microcredit cooperative. 

Nyadol Nyuon

Nyudol Nyuon

Nyadol Nyuon is a lawyer, community advocate, writer, and accomplished public speaker. She holds a bachelor degree in Arts from Victoria University and a law degree from the University of Melbourne. She now works as a commercial litigator with Arnold Bloch Leibler.

my story flows in more than one direction