

VICTORIAN ASSOCIATION FOR THE TEACHING OF ENGLISH

Life Membership of VATE - Criteria

Each year VATE members are invited to nominate a member of the English teaching community for VATE Life membership.

The contribution that the person has made should

- Have been sustained over a significant period of time.
- Have been active.
- Have had a lasting and broad impact.
- Be special, unique or original.
- Be exemplary.
- Have made a difference.

Areas for contribution could include one or more of the following

- Contribution to the organisation and the teaching community including leadership of and service to the organisation itself either as an employee, council member or both.
- Contribution to teaching and learning and classroom practice including setting directions in teaching in terms of implementation, supporting innovation, supporting other teachers in their roles.
- Contribution to curriculum and theoretical perspectives including publication of directional documents, significant interventions that shape the precepts of English teaching.

The process

- A letter of nomination is submitted to the VATE Council. This nomination should outline the person's contribution, and include supporting evidence and reasons for the nomination being made. At least two additional letters of support should also be provided.
- Council approves or rejects the nomination.
- Where there is more than one nomination approved by Council, a vote will be held by Council.
- If agreed to, the nominee is approached by the person who nominated them.
- The person who nominated the member prepares a citation to be read at the time of the conferring of Life Membership.

Life members of VATE include

Wilma Hannah (founding secretary of VATE); Ian Maxwell (first president); Bruce Dawe; Helen Howells; Jennifer Haynes; Margaret Gill; Helen Tyrer; Barry Carozzi; Val Kent; Terry Hayes; Brenton Doecke; Prue Gill; Chris Wheat; Greg Houghton; Paul Martin; Doug McClenaghan; Margaret Saltau; Meredith Maher; Catherine Beavis; Mary Mason; Jan May; Bernard Newsome; Jan Osmotherly, Amanda McGraw.