Scholarships and Awards


VATE offers two scholarships teachers to attend the National AATE/ALEA conference to be in July every year. These scholarships are intended for teachers who are prepared to make a strong commitment to supporting the activities of VATE into the future. Details about the scholarship and criteria for selection are circulated to individual members in February.



VATE presents a number of pre-service teacher awards for outstanding achievement to those undertaking an English Method.

Australian Catholic University: Josephine Ryan Award
2020 Jacinta Heywood
2019 Jack Shanks
2018 Jacinta Newbold

Deakin University, Gillian Barnsley Award
2021 Akash Samuel
2020 Jasmin Coghill
2019 Stuart Salmon
2018 Lisa Moxon
2017 Nick Harrison

Monash University, Margaret Gill Award
2021 Emily Wong
2020 Ashley Fitzpatrick
2019 Amelia Mellor
2018 Tristan Kent
2017 Susan Hopkins

The University of Melbourne, Ian Hansen Award
2021 Timothy Lilley
2020 Katherine Dixon
2019 Emily Delahunty
2018 Benjamin Karwan
2017 Lena Pasqua

Victoria University, Michael Hamerston Award
2021 Annemarie Agborchi
2020 Rachel English
2019 Shamindi Pathirana
2018 Ezra Warren
2017 Mia Robinson